Day 5 – VT, NH and finally ME

We have arrived in Maine and were surprised and excited to find a microbrew restaurant virtually next door – short walk thru the woods!!!! But let me back up some.
Monica finally came to terms with being on vacation and actually slept past 8! We got off to a slow start but went souvenir shopping even before breakfast. The owners of the gift shop pointed us to the Mooselook restaurant in Concord VT. That breakfast was to die for. I had homemade bread with my eggs and wanted the whole loaf! I don’t usually care for home fries but these were perfect!
From there we took off on the journey to Maine. Unfortunately every eastbound road in the NE is under construction. ( shh this is a secret – actually only the road we chose was under construction but it was easier to bear the delays if we could pretend it was all.)
I endured – I mean,enjoyed – more comparisons between S Dakota farms and New England farms. Not that there is anything wrong with the farms in the NE, but they are so undersized! In all fairness, if I had to listen to farm commentary, Monica was forced to listen to me sing along with the oldies radio stations. Seriously, how many “classic oldies” radio stations are there in the NE????? Is there anything else?? I did hear a couple of classical stations but really don’t think road trips and opera are a very successful combo!
It was a long day of driving with way too many construction zones but Monica and I remain friends. It really helped to find our accommodations in Maine were so close to micro brew restaurant. What better way to end the day than lobster and local beer? Oh yeah, and pie! I had apple pie and Monica had blueberry – I know your jealous!
Oh by the way, temperature was in the low sixties today.
Here endeth day 5 of our A to Z adventure.

image

Mm mm homemade bread

image

Hasta!

image

Microbrew restaurant right next door!!!

Leave a comment